A Farewell to 2010 From the Director

Talk about being new at something.   Forgive me if this blog is too colloquial or boring or technical or anything, I am freely admitting that this is my first time “blogging”.  I have been told by my much hipper and younger colleagues that I can write about pretty much anything I want, so here it goes…

I guess if I have to expound on one topic that sort of encapsulates 2010 then it would be growth.  Growth here at the Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum.  There’s the obvious literal growth of additional staff, new structures, equipment, etc, and then there’s the growth that I think we’ve seen as an institution.  I feel  like this last year was one in which we gained a strong hold on our strategic planning and budgeting processes; and in how we operate, who does what.  I get the idea that we are staring to create a “culture” of our own here and I like that idea very much.  I think a good deal of what makes a job enjoyable is the way things operate.  Don’t get me wrong, I also understand that there are always issues and not everyone is happy and I don’t profess to be anything even close to an excellent manager but I strive to be.

We have a lot to look forward to in 2011 and I think we are up to the challenge.  We have some new staff that have just started with us and some who will join us just as the new year starts.  I am excited about them joining our team and I can’t wait to see what they have to offer.

Lastly, I am excited to see what the Ah-Tah-Thi-Ki Museum can do for the Tribal community here in Florida and in the rest of the country.  I suspect we will continue to grow in terms of our national exposure while still making sure that we connect with and cater to our primary audience of Seminole Tribal members here at home.

Anne McCudden

Director

Leave a Reply

